In 2006, the Massachusetts legislature passed a new minimum wage in Massachusetts, overriding the Governor’s veto. Here is what you need to know as an employer:
- The current minimum wage in Massachusetts is $6.75 per hour. Employees who earn tips may be paid a wage of only $2.63 per hour, provided that their wages and tips combined are at least equal to the full minimum wage amount.
- Under the new law, the minimum wage rises to $7.50 per hour on January 1, 2007, and rises again on January 1, 2008, to $8.00 per hour.
- Employees who work on Sundays may have to be paid one and a half times their usual wage, unless the employee falls within one of over fifty exemptions in the law.
The law of minimum wage is fairly straightforward but contains numerous exemptions. Employers should confirm the legality of their pay practices with a qualified labor attorney.